Mon, 11/28/2011

TV Academy Announces 21st Annual Hall of Fame Inductees

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences' Hall of Fame Committee has selected performers Vivian Vance and Bill Frawley, executive Michael Eisner, show creator-producer Chuck Lorre, executive producers Mary-Ellis Bunim and Jonathan Murray, actor Sherman Hemsley, host Mario Kreutzberger (aka Don Francisco), and lighting director Bill Klages as the newest inductees into the Television Academy’s Hall of Fame. The group will be honored at the 21st Annual Hall of Fame induction ceremony held at The Beverly Hills Hotel on March 1st, 2012.

“The group of inductees for this year’s Hall of Fame has had a remarkable impact in all areas of the television industry, from performers and hosts to producers and executives,” said Mark Itkin, chair of the Hall of Fame selection committee. “It is a tremendous privilege to chair this committee and be able to honor this group with the recognition that they so greatly deserve.”

The Archive of American Television has conducted interviews with several of the new honorees, and with many of their colleagues. Below enjoy selections from Archive interviews with or touting this year's Hall of Fame inductees:

I Love Lucy actress Doris Singleton and director William Asher on Vivian Vance and William Frawley:

Michael Eisner on how television has changed and where it's headed:

Melissa McCarthy on how Chuck Lorre fought for her to play "Molly" on Mike and Molly:

Tom Freston on the creation of Bunim/Murray's The Real World:

Sherman Hemsley on developing his famous character, "George Jefferson:"

Mario Kreutzberger aka Don Francisco on hosting Sabado Gigante:

Bill Klages on directing the lighting for JFK's inaugural gala:

More from our Featured Story on the 21st Annual Hall of Fame Inductees.