Emmy Awards, The: 65th Primetime (2013)

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation Presents




The 65th Primetime Emmy Awards were broadcast live on Sunday, September 22, 2013 from the Nokia Center in Los Angeles on CBS.  For the second time, Neil Patrick Harris hosted the event. It was produced by Ken Ehrlich, his sixth time producing the Emmy Awards.

The 2013 Primetime Emmy Award season began on July 18, 2013 with the official nomination announcement at 5:40 AM PT. Congratulations to all the nominees! A complete list of the award winners can be found on Emmys.com.

The Archive of American Television would also like to congratulate our interviewees who were nominated this year:

Paris Barclay for Outstanding Directing For a Comedy Series (Glee)

Tom Bergeron for Outstanding Host For a Reality Or Reality-Competition Program (Dancing With The Stars)

Mark Burnett for Outstanding Reality-Competition Program (The Voice), Outstanding Reality Program (Shark Tank), and Outstanding Miniseries Or Movie (The Bible)

David Crane for Outstanding Writing For a Comedy Series (Episodes)

Greg Daniels for Outstanding Writing For a Comedy Series (The Office)

Robert Dickinson for Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction For A Variety Special (55th Annual Grammy AwardsThe Oscars)

Linda Ellerbee for Outstanding Children's Program (Nick News With Linda Ellerbee)

Michael J. Fox for Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series (as "Louis Canning" on The Good Wife)

Ian Fraser for Outstanding Music Direction (Christmas In Washington)

Vince Gilligan for Outstanding Drama Series (Breaking Bad)

Edward Greene for Outstanding Sound Mixing For a Variety Series or Special (American Idol)

Louis J. Horvitz for Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special (The Kennedy Center Honors)

Al Jean for Outstanding Animated Program (The Simpsons)

Susan Lacy for Outstanding Documentary or Nonfiction Series (American Masters)

Steve Levitan and Christopher Lloyd for Outstanding Comedy Series (Modern Family)

James Lipton for Informational Series or Special (Inside the Actors Studio)

Chuck Lorre for Outstanding Comedy Series (The Big Bang Theory)

Julia Louis-Dreyfus for Outstanding Lead Actress In a Comedy Series (Veep)

Don Mischer for Outstanding Directing For A Variety Special (The Oscars)

Jonathan Murray for Outstanding Reality-Competition Program (Project Runway)

Sheila Nevins for Outstanding Children's Program (The Weight of the Nation for Kids: Quiz Ed!A YoungArts Masterclass) and Outstanding Documentary Or Nonfiction Special (EthelManhunt:The Inside Story of The Hunt For Bin Laden)

Bob Newhart for Outstanding Guest Actor In a Comedy Series (as "Arthur Jeffries/Professor Proton" in The Big Bang Theory)

Ed O'Neill for Outstanding Supporting Actor In a Comedy Series (Modern Family)

Hector Ramirez for Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Series (Dancing With The Stars), Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special (The Kennedy Center HonorsThe Oscars)

Bertram van Munster and Elise Doganieri for Outstanding Reality-Competition Program (The Amazing Race

Tim Van Patten for Outstanding Director For a Drama Series (Boardwalk Empire)

Matthew Weiner for Outstanding Drama Series (Mad Men)

Betty White for Outstanding Host For A Reality Or Reality-Competition Program (Betty White’s Off Their Rockers)

Vince Gilligan on the moment he's proudest of on Breaking Bad,  when "Walter White" turns down a no-strings offer for money, which is supposed to be the reason he's making sacrifices, making his character less sympathetic from early on in the series
Sheila Nevins on the process of making a documentary
Tom Bergeron on the legacy of Dancing With the Stars
Bob Newhart on his comedic influences
Susan Lacy on approaching American Masters like independent film

All Shows